Top Navigation

Code for Sustainable Homes

Code for Sustainable Homes

We are registered Code for sustainable homes (CfSH) assessors and value engineers with almost half a century of experience of working in the residential industry.

With the recent government changes following the Housing Standards Review, local authorities can no longer require levels of CfSH as a planning condition for residential developments. We recognise that there will be legacy projects already in the pipeline that will still need to be assessed. We can advise on all aspects of the process, from pre-assessments to full assessments, liaison with local authority and we also provide bespoke training to get teams up to speed.

The CfSH was the national standard used to measure the sustainable design and construction of new homes. It used a star rating system to show the standard of sustainable performance achieved against nine categories.

The nine measures of sustainable design are:

  • energy/CO2
  • water
  • materials
  • surface water runoff (flooding and flood prevention)
  • waste
  • pollution
  • health and well-being
  • management
  • ecology

If you would like further information please contact Cat Clarkson or call her on 01787 247595 or get in touch using the details on our contact us page.

To see how changes to CfSH and BREEAM policy may effect you check ourĀ Home Quality Mark update